A New Outfit For Rae

image

Every year my family and I attend a memorial to commemorate the sacrifice that Jesus made on our behalf.  This is a special occasion for us, so we try to dress our best.

This is a 2 piece outfit that I made for my daughter Rae.  I used Mccall’s 7355 to make the top.  The skirt is a self-drafted full satin circle skirt with 2 layers of tulle and a petticoat underneath.

Circle Skirt

The skirt was really simple once the circle was cut.  I cut a complete circle (with a whole in the middle)  of both the satin and the tulle.  I combined and stitched the layers using my serger.  Because I was using complete circles, I didn’t need to add a zipper.  We used a cute metallic silver elastic for the waistband. I serged the edges of the satin with white thread.

Tutorial – I followed this tutorial on YouTube to make the skirt.

Pattern Alterations/Modifications

  • Added a peplum –  It was just a shorter full circle skirt attached to the bodice. I made the peplum following the same steps that I used for making the skirt, but I used the bodice measurement as the circumference instead of my daughter’s waist measurement.  After I attached it.  I trimmed a portion of the front and sides to give the high low effect.
  • Added a 22 inch zipper to make getting in and out of the top easier.
  • The edges of the top were serged with white thread.

12278940_845787958876697_2323336609143398997_n

