How I Wore It – Mermaid Maxi

image

This is easily the most simple piece I’ve ever made and I love it. It has so many styling possibilities. I can easily see myself wearing this out for a date night with my husband or dressing it up for a special occasion.

This would be a great beginner project for someone that is just learning to sew. I am not new to sewing in general but I am new to sewing stretchy fabrics.

To sew a skirt like this you don’t really even need to buy a pattern. You can make your own by tracing a well fitted pencil skirt. I actually  traced the skirt of my favorite lbd and free handed the tail part of the skirt.

Are you interested in making your own?  Check out this tutorial. This is the one that I followed.  Instead of cutting around my skirt directly on the fabric, I traced my pattern onto a large piece of paper and added an inch seam allowance.  I also made mine high waisted with two inch elastic at the waist.

ACCESSORIES:

Because I was wearing the skirt to a wedding, I paired it with a cute fitted black tee shirt with lace details at the shoulders

*Silver- toned blingy statement necklace with Baby Pink jewels (hard to see in the picture)
*Simple faux diamond princess cut studs
*Baby Pink framed shades
*Silver Heels
*Silver clutch

image

